1. Home
Send to a Friend via Email

Discuss in my forum

User Reviews

IKEA Furniture Review

User Rating 1 out of 5
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Ikea Brimnes Bed frameJune 11, 2013 By PearlDaisy
I was over the moon for my first Brimnes bed. after 6 months of research, I chose IKEA- what a mistake! My husband spent 5 hours assembling it and the minute he finished and wanted to put it in place the footboard was cut into half. Shocked, sadddened.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Great ideas, Poor service, poor inventory.June 04, 2013 By sobeqban
I have gone to Ikea three times at Sunrise, FL, all three times the items I have chosen have been out of stock, and with an arrival ETA of almost a month and a half... really? .... if you go online, the shipping is too pricey, for a small table, $46, and two out of five items also out of stock.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful.
2 out of 5 2 out of 5
FAULTY BOLTMay 20, 2013 By NOTSATISFIED10
ORDERED A HEMNES WARDROBE. ONE OF THE BOLTS WAS BENT WHEN WE OPENED UP ALL THE PARTS. THIS IS A KEY FIXTURE BOLT AND WE COULDN'T PROCEED WITHOUT IT. I TRIED PHONING THEM THERE IS A 30 MIN WAIT, SOMETIMES 20 YOU CAN NEVER GET THROUGH. IN THE END I ORDERED IT VIA THIS ANNA ONLINE ASSISTANT WHO TYPED IT WOULD BE HERE IN 3-5 DAYS, ON DAY 5 IT IS STILL NOT HERE. I STILL CANN'T GET THROUGH TO THEM, VIA TELEPHONE OR WEBCHAT. I'VE NO IDEA AS TO WHETHER THE BOLT WAS ACTUALLY ORDERED OR NOT. IT IS CAUSING CHAOS IN THE HOUSE WITH THIS BIG WARDROBE ON THE FLOOR. THE FINISH IS NOT BRILLIANT EITHER. I HAVE TRIED GETTING A BOLT FROM A HARDWARE STORE BUT THEY DO NOT STOCK THEM. GREAT, SO I AM WAITING FOR A BOLT WHICH MAY OR MAY NOT TURN UP AND IF I DOESN'T AM BACK TO TRYING TO PHONE AGAIN. I WILL NEVER ORDER ANYTHING FROM THEM AGAIN. I'D RATHER PAY AN EXTRA 300 AND HAVE EVERYTHING DONE AND RECEIVE QUALITY GOODS THAN THIS MESS.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Entire house is Ikea furnishedMay 13, 2013 By astar88
I was surprised by the overwhelmingly negative remarks about Ikea. So surprised, I thought maybe a different point of view was in order-here's my experience. I bought a home last year and as a single person furnishing a house in need of repair one of my only options for affordability was Ikea. I have purchased/assembled/installed: TUNDRA laminate flooring in 3 bedrooms AKURUM kitchen (yes, an entire kitchen-including appliances) MALM bedroom set (including bed frame, headboard, 3 separate dressers) BESTA BURS desk BESTA BURS television stand EXPEDIT range of units consisting of 6 total pieces GODMORGON vanity cabinets & sinks (3 total and a high cabinet as well) BILLY bookcase system (3 so far with plans to add as funds become available) All that and not including the EXPEDITS and high top dining table with barstools that have been in my possession for 4 years. (They show no signs of breakdown yet.) Through all of these purchases I have had to make one return trip to Ikea for a spare part-a shelf peg that I was shorted. (Something I could have made myself from a dowel rod had I so choose.) And if you would believe it, I have never brought home or had delivered a damaged piece from Ikea. My only complaint is that the cash lanes and delivery desks get backed up on occasion and the wait can be exhausting, however, the service I receive is always from polite employees who answer my inane questions with a smile. I was sorry to see the other negative experiences, however, I did notice a theme in the reviews focused on ordering from Ikea (Not being in the store to purchase.) and the Ikea assembly services-neither method I have tried. It is my wish that this review gives hope to other prospective shoppers out there that the Ikea product, when properly assembled, can last for years, will look amazing in your home, and will let you sleep easily knowing you didn't rack up astronomical debt to furnish your abode.
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
IKEA's bad quality furniture and customer serviceApril 21, 2013 By nyayalar
We got ODDA pull-out bed in FEB 2013. It comes with a slatted bed base, which broke last night only after 2 month of use. The customer service didn't want to replace it and was not helpful because we didn't keep the receipt. Come on this is their product and it is NOT our fault. They have to help and replace it. I won't buy anything from IKEA anymore and I don't recommend anybody to buy this product and any other products. The customer service is also terrible! Sorry IKEA, you lost a customer who used to trust you and purchase from you.
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Flatter to deceiveApril 09, 2013 By johnmcgeechan
I have bought a kitchen from IKEA but to be honest would not use them again. They have an excellent online planning tool, which I used to plan my kitchen, we went in to do the final details in store. Not easy for us as we had a 2 hour drive to the nearest store. The trouble began when we had to work with customer services. Depending on who you spoke to either they had no trace of the order or no trace of the payment. It took us a week of trying to navigate their appaling customer help line and waiting on the end of the phone for 30 minutes each time. I literally rang them about a dozen times. Each time a different person, each time they wer enot clear what was happening, and this was just to try and get a delivery date and pay for the order ! (yes turns out we hadn't paid at all, when they took all of the details) We started to get a really bad feeling, if we couldn't even ge through to someone to PAY for the kitchen what chance did we have if something went wrong ? We started thinking about alternatives and I contacted TESCO kitchens as it looked like it was going to be quicker to start the whole process again rather than wait for IKEA to pull their finger out. Eventually I did speak to someone and the payment was confirmed and teh delivery agreed. After all that stress the kitchen did arrive on time. I have subsequently found out that some of the under cabint lights we ordered require extra fittings ! I don't blame IKEA for that, however what I do blame them for is that athough you can order them online and they are delivered by parcelforce it still takes a week to deliver them ? What self-respecting company has a week turnaround for an order of small items in this day an age. In future I will stick with a local company.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
AWFUL!!!February 22, 2013 By jillnakins
We bought expedit shelving units from IKEA...they looked really nice on display. We put them into the car(I had to sit in the backseat so we could fit them.). We drive 45 minutes home, my husband carefully carried the 200lb boxes in the house, we opened up one of them to find it was damaged. Annoying, but not the end of the world. We exchanged the shelf, put the new one in the car, drove another 45 minutes home, open up the new box, and it, too, was damaged. We called customer service to speak to them, got hung up on, and then were told to call back the next morning! Unacceptable! We will NEVER shop there again.
5 of 11 people found this review helpful.
3 out of 5 3 out of 5
buying Ikea furniture? i wouldn't recommend that!February 07, 2013 By MDECAROLINA
I love Ikea because of its different variety in products! Its my Favorite store, but after buying so much furniture from them, my family and I finally decided to start going to another store because ikea furniture ends up falling apart. for example, a dresser i bought doesn't stay together and the drawers get stuck, i have 3 months with it! if i try to use any tool to fix it, the material chips off easily, another bad experience is that my bed frame unscrewed and broke while i was sleeping...i can keep going... all im saying is if you want something that will last longer, i honestly recommend a different furniture store.
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
No customer Service, doublechargedFebruary 06, 2013 By BlackChocolate
I have used Ikea MK many times but the last shopping experience was laft a bitter teste and made me feel not treated well as a customer . On 26th January 2013 I have ordered a sliding doors warderobe from Ikea Milton Keynes. While ordering, they had an issue in the system and I had to put my credit card twice, and as the issue continued, after nearly an hour I was asked to use a different card as the first one didn't go through. The delivery was done the next day, however, some of the items were missing, others were wrongI have contacted Ikea several times over the phone , emails and even went to the shop to return the wrong items, I have been promissed that I have a new delivery for all missing items, every other day I am informed that my delivery is being delayed I still have not received my items, for which I have actually paid double, and i am still waiting for a refund. Upseting and desapointing. I am extremely unhappy with their customer service. I find them ignorant and unhelpfull... such a pitty... I like their product...but will never use them again. Not even a star, but didn't have a no star option.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
No Exchange PolicyJanuary 25, 2013 By fdonmez
I have purchase king size bedding set about a year ago from IKEA and and last week, I purchased king size comforter from there, but their`s size are way different, even though they are both king size. The comforter`s size is much bigger than it`s cover. So I can NOT use both of the items together because of their`s unequal sizes. Even worse, They did NOT change or return the product due to the ridiculous NON return policy. IKEA needs to improve the quality of customer satisfaction. We know It is an Europe brand return/exchange may not usual over there, but here is USA. They have to play the game by rules of the USA.
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Poor QualityDecember 29, 2012 By Katop1
If you are looking for cheap, useless garbage to put in your house, then IKEA is the place for you! Let me restate that. IKEA furniture has TERRIBLE quality. The furniture products come in boxes so they are supposed to self-assembled. So, when I assembled that garbage, I noticed two cheap things in the first minute! One, the assembly tools come in only the needed amount, so there was absolutely no surplus of tools in case I broke one of the screws or lost them. Two, the quality and material was (and always will be) cheap. Cheap, as in, chips-off-when-you-accidentally-drop-a-pin-on-it. When I stuck a screw in there and tried to get it out, I was feeling like I was finding the Earth in the universe. At least it did come out! But don't get me wrong! IKEA furniture is of terrible quality and cheap assembly tools but the result was outstanding! It looked like a broken egg that became a tasty omelet! I still don't recommend it because of the time-consuming assembly and cheap quality.
2 of 8 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
The most awful customer service everDecember 22, 2012 By vivivg
I had an awful experience. First the customer service at the store was bad, with employees that didn't have a good attitude, not helpful, were not trained to help you. I purchased a wardrobe, and I was having a real hard time hauling the cart to my car and I told the girl that it was too heavy for me, she simply said ,""oh, it is heavy for me too, but if I can do it, you should be able too. You have to bring all the way to the front and ask somebody to help you"". All the way to the front was really far away, and thanks to some customers that helped me opening doors I was able to do it. The IKEA people just pretended I was invisible, didn't lift a finger not even to hold a door. The mexican guy that didn't speak a lick of English was THE BEST thing of the whole experience (thank goodness for humble people that really want to hold a job). He helped me put the stuff inside the car. So I hauled this thing two hours away to my home, and I get home and guess what ? They packed the wrong thing. The guy at the phone was arrogant and didn't offer me any alternatives, but just to drive back and return the whole thing. Now, if I want my money back I have to drive 2 hours back to the store and it is 3 days before Christmas. As if I didn't have enough to do already! I WILL NEVER BUY THERE AGAIN AND I""LL TELL EVERYBODY TO NEVER GO THERE>
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Ikea Tidafors SofasNovember 07, 2012 By 1539june
Bought Tidafors 2 seater and 3 seater sofa,s in March 2012, by September 3 seater started to sag. Contacted Ikea they sent a inspector round he told my husband there was a fault and would report it, when report came back it said no fault found. Family and friends commented on the dip in the centre no one would sit there as they would tilt to one side. contacted Ikea again, sent another inspector round, report came back no fault found. Ikea washed their hands of the problem, still people commented on the dip in the sofa. Having got no support from Ikea we decided to remedy the fault ourselves, the springs in the centre had twisted we put supports and wood slates under, and would you believe problem solved no thanks to ikea. Do not buy the Tidafors they must have a fault. Ikea not interested after paying out nearly 900 we are not happy with Ikea customer support or satisfaction gurantee. Thanks Ikea for nothing!!!!!!!! you really need to look at this design especially 3 seater centre support
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Ikea FurnitureOctober 01, 2012 By eshbod
I ordered a Opal bed which has drawers underneath the bed. When the bed arrived I noticed there are so many boxes, but I did not realize the real mess until I opened the boxes. IKEA gave me 200 parts made of lowest grade particle board possible and around five hundres screws and other assebly parts. I basically hade to make a bed from scratch. I am preety good at these things but still took me and my boddy about 8 hour to asseble the bed and the headboard. It was awfull and I have no idea how an ordinary person without much knowledge of tools and assembly. IKEA used to have nice designs and fair quality, but recently whatever I bought from them is very poor in quality and gesign. I would stay away from IKEA especially their OPAL bed if I were you. This was my last purchase from them and it would not happen again.
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
2 out of 5 2 out of 5
IKEA Expensive for Quality of ProductSeptember 28, 2012 By Ardys
Impression on display attractive but beauty is only skin deep. The assembly of Hemnes corner workstation, while do-able for experienced assemblers, was challenging because some pieces were split when they were unpacked and others split when put in place and screwed in. The result was glue and wait projects. The parts/pieces are not numbered and the instructions are not well or clearly presented. Behind the facade, the construction of the corner workstation is shabby and cheap. Certainly not what we expected from IKEA especially after watching a Discovery presentation of the sophisticated and high tech processes involved in manufacturing their products. Look elsewhere, this product costs double what it is worth. No more IKEA furniture in this US home. Instructions say, ""have a question, call IKEA"" but no telephone number is given, no feedback site, maybe IKEA was smarter than their customers.
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
2 out of 5 2 out of 5
Why Ikea website doesn't have reviews.September 16, 2012 By odysseus9876
I recently bought a chair. At first it was comfortable, eventually I started to get back pain. My mom bought a matress set and she also complains about it. Unfortunately, Ikea website does not allow any costumer to post their review for any of their products. So I'm only recommending this store to buy other needs rather than CHAIRS, MATRESS and SOFA.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Do Not Use Ikea Delivery Service in Palo AltoAugust 03, 2012 By LaurelWoolf
Ikea's furniture is fine if and only if you can carry it away yourself. They charge a $40.00 fee to pull it if the shelf is too high for you to reach or the item is too cumbersome. We purchased almost $1,000 from their store in Palo Alto and were assured it would be delivered on 8/3. My son waited the entire day and the service did not appear. He called the delivery service Ikea uses for Santa Cruz and was told that Ikea had not pulled the order yet and they regularly gave customers ""random dates"" and then delivered the furniture ""whenever"". This is a poor way to run a business and it is not acceptable to charge a $159.00 delivery fee plus a $40.00 fee for pulling items off the shelf if Ikea has no intention of delivering in a timely way. It is also absolutely impossible to get a human on the phone to try to resolve this situation.
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
ikea furniture shipping is terribleAugust 02, 2012 By philiphdc
Ikea's furniture shipping service is terrible. I bought a bed online and paid $100 for shipping. the shipping service set a time 12pm to 4pm for delivery. I arrived home at 12:10 and they had not called my cell phone but they had come and gone. I called and asked if they would circle back at some point in the day and they refused. Hours on the phone with ikea to get re-delivery and they charged me another $25. Then, the shipper's site would not allow me to schedule a time -- had to do it on phone. Since a week elapsed they sent the bed back to ikea and refused to deliver it. Ikea kept the $100 shipping fee and refused to refund.... all that for being 10 minutes late.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful.
5 out of 5 5 out of 5
Cheap and fabulous.August 02, 2012 By suckmyface
The other review irritated me so much I literally signed up just to write this review in retaliation. You don't shop at Ikea for a stellar customer service experience. It is a warehouse. You pick up what you need (in boxes) and assemble it yourself at home. That is how they keep costs so low. If you want butt-kissing sales associates to answer all your questions, and hand deliver already-assembled furniture to your door, you order from a furniture gallery. Ikea products are decent quality; many are made from hardwood and are way sturdier, yet cheaper, than the mdf stuff you'd buy at other ""big box"" stores. Their prices are rock bottom and absolutely can't be beat. I've gotten solid wood dining chairs for less than $20 a piece that have lasted many, many years. Granted, I had to bring them home in my own car and put them together myself, but I personally am willing to do that to save over $100 per chair. Bottom line: you get what you pay for. If you want more, you need to spend more. That's how it works with any store. It's just common sense.
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
IKEA SERVICE REALLY SUCKS!!!!!!!!!!!!July 07, 2012 By MsHollywood1986
I went into IKEA yesterday to purchase a full bedroom set complete with a bed,chest,and dresser. After standing in line for an hour and getting my receipt scanned I was sent to home delivery. There they told me I had to pay a fee for them to get my items off of the shelf (which I thought was really stupid!!!!!). Then I paid the delivery fee which was expected. Luckily my niece asked if they would put it together and the rep says no. He said that a different company puts their furniture together. I asked how much they would charge to put the things together and he tells me it depends on how much I payed for the merchandise. I WAS SO UPSET!!!!!! I said what does the price I paid have to do with them putting it together. I payed 1,000 dollars for my furniture and he said the price to put it together would be around 4 or 500 dollars. I held IKEA to a higher standard. I will never shop there again not even for ice trays!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
3 of 25 people found this review helpful.
2 out of 5 2 out of 5
Great products+design - poor customer serviceJuly 04, 2012 By ICRA1963
Make sure you have all items once you leave the store - especially, if you live a 2hr drive away. Realized that bed beam was missing once arriving at home - and another item was double charged. Almost one hr on the phone/hold w IKEA customer service - whilst the overcharge will be credited back we'll be waiting 2-3 weeks to have a bed beam sent out and making the bed usable??? Apparently, the call center has no authority and is unable to even communicate a shpm date - for any item ordered. i was told there will be an email sent once the item ordered has been shipped - whenever that will be??? Disappointing for a huge IKEA fan...I would have driven anywhere for their great European design - no more...
0 of 0 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
TERRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICEMay 27, 2012 By HollyRusso
Yes, ikea furniture is affordable and attractive, BUT it's not worth the hassle we went through. Ikea only shipped 63 out of 75 items on our order, forcing us to push back arrangements for assembly, painting and not to mention personal arrangements. The delivery service itself was efficient and the workers were very nice (note: this service is not connected to ikea) however they seemed completely not surprised by the fact that ikea messed up yet another order. A worker stated that they have too many lazy people working over there, and I agree. If you shop here:#1 avoid delivery and #2 find a different (cheaper) assembly service.
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
un-americanMay 02, 2012 By qode69
WILL NEVER SHOP THERE AGAIN ESPECIALLY THE ONE LOCATED IN FRISCO TEXAS. EVERY TIME I BUY SOMETHING THERE IT HAS TO BE RETURNED BECAUSE OF DAMAGE PRODUCTS. DO NOT SHOP THERE EVER. I WOULD RATHER SHOP AT WAL MART, AT LEAST IT IS OWNED BY AN AMERICAN. ANY ONE IN MY OPINION WHO WORKS THERE, SHOPS THERE HAS ANYTHING TO DO WITH IKEA IS UN AMERICAN.
2 of 39 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
IKEA assembly service assembly angelsApril 23, 2012 By akhan12
in the uk do not use ikeas assembly service called assembly angels they will do a horrible job then try charge you more to finish a job. They will also damage your carpet. For my two wardrobes they agreed 126 for 20% value of product over the phone then once they fitted wardrobes they seemed very agressive and asked for 140. Please be aware. However furniture is good shame about service.
0 of 0 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Slat bedFebruary 07, 2012 By caggiano69
I have been purchased bed and slat base The wood does not support for long it break easily and I bought 3 rd times slat base bed for my kids always break., pieces of junk. I recommend any customers should not buy bed . The best to buy BED FRAME other bed stores such as sleepys. I am not buy anymore beds from Ikea again.
11 of 13 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Stay Away from the Bolingbrook, IL StoreOctober 27, 2011 By ameristarjhollifield
My husband and I were looking for a round table to entertain guests. We had been all over looking for one and were so excited when we came across one here. It seemed odd, but there was no number to go pick it ourselves, it said write down the name and color and ask them for help. So we did, the only question the man had was how tall was the base, 29 or 48""? We told him 29"", he printed out a ""C&C Full Serve"", we paid and then we waited. About 20 minutes later, a woman comes out and says it shows 6, (yes she said 6), bases in stock but there isn't a one there. I asked for the floor model base since it appeared they were discontinuing it, the sticker had said last chance. She said she'd check and walked away. 10 minutes later she came back and said there was no way they would give me the floor model; she swore it wasn't being discontinued and that they needed the floor model to continue selling it. She said it would take 2 weeks to get a new one in. I asked for her manager and she walked away and made a call. Another 10 minutes goes by and she finally came back with a cart. She said she called the warehouse manager down and he looked for the parts and found them. Hmm, weird, but okay, we're so happy to have the table that we were so desperately looking for! Our party was saved...or not. When we got home, the base wasn't the same as the model we looked at. It doesn't even fit our table top, it's too small. The base in the store was round, this one is crossed. I'm not sure who didn't know what they were doing, the first guy who didn't give a round option, the lady who claimed they were out of stock or the warehouse manager that found them- probably all three. I'm just sorry I let my excitement get in the way of getting these peoples names. We will never shop at this location again. I'm not even sure I'll go to the Schaumburg one after this.
4 of 14 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Assembled Furniture is ""used"" according to IKEA.September 21, 2011 By LynnBAmi
I purchased a storage cabinet and a vanity and sink for the bath in my renters apartment. She has IKEA furniture and was familiar with assembling it and assured me it would be simple. To assemble the 2 pieces took about 8 hours. We set aside the vanity for the plumber's installation the next day but upon placing it against the wall we discovered the sink was not centered under the mirror and light due to the added shelves to the left. This cabinet was moved only a few feet to place it against the wall and the left back leg fell off. My plumber said it was glued. I put the vanity in my car and returned it a few days later. IKEA refused to credit me stating it was ""used."" I said ""assembled"" is not ""used."" But the clerk pointed out that because we had attached the door with the intended screws that now the holes would never be the same - thus ""used."" He read the same refund policy that IKEA has posted on its walls with those adorable walking hearts and on their website. I pointed out that nothing in the written return policy stated that an assembled piece of furniture was considered ""used"" nor did the policy state the item I was returning as one of the considered ""used"" items. He was adamate - USED!!! I have contacted IKEA about this fraudulent return policy and they are very sorry for my inconvenience. They claim it is at the store's discretion to accept or reject assembled furniture. I would not recommend this furniture especially for a bath. How was that vanity suppose to hold up a sink and faucet if it could not stand alone without the leg falling off? I left the ""used"" furniture with the robotic clerk. I hope this is a fair warning for others considering buying to-be- assembled furniture from IKEA.
7 of 13 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Ikea serviceSeptember 13, 2011 By Ecalif
Ikea does not have customer service once you buy their product. I paid for furniture, delivery and assemby. When they delivered the furniture, they did not bring the mattress. They will not bring a mattress until they investigate what happened to the one they were supposed to deliver. They also charged me twice for delivery. I am a student and sleeping on the floor because I can't get them to deliver a mattress I paid for. I have spent hours on the phone and I cannot resolve the issue. Buyer beware.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Horrible Customer ServiceAugust 13, 2011 By Gagator
First time buyer of Ikea furniture for my daughter's room. Glass Hemnes bookshelves had missing wood pieces. Spent 2+ weeks on the phone with customer service trying to get the parts. Was lied to several times that items were to arrive by the end of next business day for them never to arrive. Bookshelf was half put together and sitting in upstairs hallway for over 2 weeks due to the inefficent customer service. Not one person that I spoke to over the 2+ weeks was honest about the situation. Actually, I still haven't received the parts! Will not spend another dime at Ikea!
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
HEMNES 6-drawer chestMay 10, 2011 By slynnen
I bought the white HEMNES 6-drawer chest from IKEA in August of 2008. After a year the drawers were falling apart. Twice I took it back to IKEA for parts replacements and not even three years later the dresser is unusable. The drawer face completely fell off of one drawer and two others are on the brink. I am now faced with buying another dresser less than 3 years later. Save your money...go buy a real dresser.
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 out of 5 1 out of 5
Hemnes DaybedDecember 07, 2010 By GeneralNewt
I recently purchased a Hemnes Daybed from Ikea - looked good, was comfortable in the store - yadda yadda yadda - the same reason we all buy Ikea stuff. After spending 6 hours assembling it, I laid down exhaused...only to wake up 4 hours later with a pounding headache, nausea, swollen throat, and congested lungs. The bed SMELLED AWFUL! It's not one of those things you notice when you're looking at it, but it's one of those things you notice when you lie on it for several hours! The smell is seriously so bad that my roommate makes me keep my door closed because it's stinking up the entire apartment. It's a mixture of glue and paint that combines to smell like vomit. I've been letting it air out for a week and a half now but I don't think I can take it anymore. And insult to injury, Ikea sometimes doesn't take assembled furniture back! This makes me so mad if I can't get this resolved I'm determined to go to small claims court, the smell is awful and makes the bed unusable.
17 of 23 people found this review helpful.